logo text


Why join PASA?  Watch the video in HD. (Or watch the video in Standard Def.)

Legislative Committee

The Committee on Legislation is composed of elected members from each of the 29 PASA regions. Members are elected in the same manner, for the same term, and on the same cycle as the regional Board of Governors' members. From among its members, the PASA President appoints a chair and a vice chair.
The Committee meets several times per year at the call of the chair. The Association reimburses travel expenses for two meetings per year. In addition, the committee meets via conference calls on Tuesday mornings during weeks when the General Assembly is in session. The purpose of the calls is to receive updated information on what is happening at the Capitol, discuss the issues, and raise questions. Following the call, members receive (via email) notes summarizing issues discussed on the call and share them with colleagues within their respective regions.
Responsibility of the Committee
The Committee studies and directs PASA positions on specific legislation consistent with the Association's Resolutions and any direction from the Board of Governors.
Responsibilities of Committee Members
* develop ongoing communication with the PASA members in their regions on legislative issues by bringing to their attention PASA legislative updates, soliciting their views on pending legislation and sharing those views with the full committee
* foster ongoing communication between PASA members in their regions and legislators by participating in PASA sponsored or co-sponsored "lobby day" activities, by inviting legislators to regional activities, and by coordinating back to school visits for legislators
* participate in conference calls, share conference call notes with colleagues, regularly access the PASA web site to gather the latest information, and  share information about PASA's advocacy work with regional colleagues

CLICK HERE for the 2020-21 PASA Resolutions.
The document informs PASA's advocacy efforts by identifying specific actions that need to be taken in order to achieve the goals of the association.

2020-21 Legislative Committee

Chair: Dr. Shane Hotchkiss, Bermudian Springs



01 William Henderson Frazier
03 Dr. Bryan O'Black Shaler Area
04 Dr. Brian White Butler Area
05 Thomas Washington Crawford Central
06 Dr. Michael Stahlman Riverview I.U. 6
07 Dr. Janet Sardon Yough
08 Mark Kudlawiec Chestnut Ridge
09 Matthew Splain Otto-Eldred
10 Dr. John Zesiger Moshannon Valley
11 James Estep Mifflin County
12 Dr. Jay Burkhart South Western
13 Dr. Michael Leichliter Penn Manor
  Dr. Brian Barnhart Lancaster-Lebanon I.U. 13
14 Dr. Randall Grove Conrad Weiser Area
15 Dr. Richard Fry Big Spring
16 Dr. John Kurelja Central Susquehanna I.U. 16
17 Daphne Bowers Montgomery Area
18 Dr. Anthony Grieco Luzerne I.U. 18
19 Bryan McGraw North Pocono
20 Dr. Joseph Roy Bethlehem Area
21 Kathleen Evison Southern Lehigh
22 Rebecca Roberts-Malamis Bucks Co. I.U. 22
23 Valentina Viletto Montgomery Co. IU 23
24 Mary Curley Chester County IU 24
25 Dr. George Steinhoff Penn-Delco
27 Dr. Carrie Rowe Beaver Area
28 Chris DeVivo Armstrong
29 Dr. Robert Ackell North Schuylkill