logo text


Why join PASA?  Watch the video in HD. (Or watch the video in Standard Def.)

Advocacy Committee

The PASA Advocacy Committee, formerly the PASA Resolutions Committee, is composed of one member elected from each of the 29 PASA regions. Members are elected in the same manner, for the same term, and on the same cycle as the regional Board of Governors' members. The PASA  President-Elect serves as Chair of the committee.
Traditionally, the committee meets once a year in April, in the Harrisburg area, to develop its report on proposed priorities. Travel expenses are reimbursed by the association. 
Committee Responsibilities
The Advocacy Committee is responsible for informing and encouraging the membership to submit policy priorities for consideration. The committee annually drafts a Statement of PASA Advocacy Priorities (formerly "PASA Resolutions") and presents it to the Board of Governors for approval. Upon Board approval, the Statement of PASA Advocacy Priorities is made available to PASA members for review, and action on the proposal is taken by the voting members in attendance at the annual business meeting.
Member Responsibilities 

* identify issues and trends that may affect the operation of public schools in the Commonwealth
* develop a list of regional issue priorities by polling the membership in each respective region and/or discussing issues at regional meetings
* participate in the annual spring meeting to discuss recommended changes to the Statement of PASA Advocacy Priorites

2021 Meeting Date: April 15

Click here for the 2020-21 Statement of PASA Advocacy Priorities.
The document informs PASA's advocacy efforts by identifying specific actions that need to be taken in order to achieve the goals of the association.

2020-21 Advocacy Committee

Chair: Dr. Jay Burkhart, South Western



01 Dr. Keith Hartbauer Brownsville
03 Dr Johanna Vanatta Chartiers Valley
04 Dr. Tracy Vitale Seneca Valley
05 Thomas Washington Crawford Central
06 David McDeavitt Allegheny-Clarion Valley
07 Dr. Gennaro Piraino, Jr. Franklin Regional
08 Thomas Kakabar Conemaugh Twp. Area
09 Dr. G. Brian Toth* St. Marys Area
10 Michelle Dutrow* West Branch Area
11 Dr. Gary Dawson Juniata County
12 Kendra Trail Lincoln I.U. 12
13 Dr. Brian Troop Ephrata Area
14 Dr. Richard Faidley Wilson
15 Dr. Mark Leidy Mechanicsburg Area
16 Dr. Jason Bendle Shikellamy
17 Dr. Eric Briggs Canton Area
18 Brian Uplinger* Hazleton Area
19 Dr. Michael Mahon* Abington Heights
20 Dr. John Bell* Delaware Valley
21 Robert Spengler Catasauqua Area
22 Dr. Bridget O'Connell Palisades
23 John Toleno Upper Merion Area
24 Dr. James Scanlon West Chester Area
25 Bernadette Reiley Interboro
27 Dr. Carrie Rowe Beaver Area
28 Dr. Matthew Curci Apollo Ridge
29 Dr. Jeffery Zwiebel Pottsville Area
  * also member of the Board of Governors